The most difficult task of embarking on this new lifestyle was saying goodbye to dairy, primarily, yogurt and cheese.
I’m an accountant by trade, so I’m definitely a creature of habit. I have been eating the same thing for breakfast every day since I was in college: fat free, plain yogurt with granola and, for a special treat on the weekends, yogurt with apples and cinnamon. Yes, I do realize how lame and unexciting that sounds…. What can I say?
As with everything, there’s always a silver lining. I was allergic to cow’s milk. This still left goat dairy in the clear. Note that goat dairy was specifically tested during my food sensitivity testing and came back okay to eat. Sheep dairy was not tested, but I would like to add back to my diet soon and see how I react. Before being diagnosed with food allergies, I was a huge cheese snob. No Kraft singles for this lady! I cannot wait to indulge in some Manchego (and cross my fingers that I’m not allergic).
Other than goat cheese (which I LOVE!), I had never seen any other goat dairy products. It’s surprising what you start to notice when you’re actually on the look out. The grocery store is full of goat products – goat milk, goat yogurt; I even found goat ‘cheddar’ cheese. Trader Joe’s has been my go-to store for goat products. I have only seen the ‘cheddar’ cheese at Trader Joe’s and it is great for making nachos which is a treat I thought I’d given up for good. TJ’s goat yogurt is reasonably priced (relative to other goat yogurts on the market – they are expensive!). Goat yogurt is delicious – a little more tart than cow yogurt, but very rich and a much needed indulgence, especially on Saturday morning when I need a ‘special’ treat!
I feel so lucky that I can delight in goat products. But, what is the difference between dairy from a cow versus a goat or a sheep? Why would I be sensitive to one and not the other? I have heard that varying levels of Casein within dairy products affects allergic reactions in some. These are the issues I am currently researching and would love to hear your thoughts. In the meantime, what’s next on my list of indulgence: Goat Caramel Candy. Hmmm.. so far everything I’ve read says it takes at least 2 hours of constant stirring… Looks like this is something for a true baker to tackle – I’ll put in the request and you’ll be hearing from my sister soon. Maybe I can convince her to try something for the true vegans out there also – soy milk or almond milk caramel anyone?